Sick love

But if in your fear you would seek only love’s peace and love’s pleasure,

Then it is better for you that you cover your nakedness and pass out of love’s threshing-floor,

Into the seasonless world where you shall laugh, but not all of your laughter, and weep, but not all of your tears.

(From Khalil Gibran’s “The Prophet”)

Old love dies hard… like the relapse of a disease, I find once again I am barely able to extricate myself from it. It makes me bow my head and submit while myths rape every part of me. Broken and half-dead inside, I look like such a fool to everyone around, yet as Tracy Chapman tells, “they don’t get any love from you.” This world and all its freedoms have no love for me and my heart wants to hurt rather than go back out in the cold. There are no places but dark places for me.

Not sure this post makes any sense but I needed to let out my pain.

This entry was posted in personal reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sick love

  1. Amber says:

    *offers hugs as well*

  2. Marahm says:

    Sarah, I am sorry you are feeling so hopeless. Let out your pain, and know that five years from now–no, even one year from now– everything will be different. You cannot imagine the changes that lie in store for you in the future, some of which will be blessings worth waiting for.

  3. nebolisa says:

    makes complete sense…{{{{Sarah}}}

  4. Sarah says:

    Thank you, all… the support means so much to me.

  5. susanne430 says:

    Glad you shared. Sending lots of good thoughts your way, my friend.

  6. Valerie says:

    The world can be a horrible, cold place sometimes…I hope that things look brighter soon. Sending lots of love and happy thoughts your way xx

Leave a comment