Agnostic naturalist

At this point I am a naturalist rather than a supernaturalist; I highly doubt that there are undetectable beings interacting with our natural world and our minds (i.e. miracles, divine revelations etc.). I doubt it because the biggest claims of divine interaction – religious scriptures – have not convinced me to believe this claim; quite the opposite. I don’t see any need for an arbitrary dividing line between “natural” and “supernatural” in any case. I’m pretty sure I don’t believe in “a mysterious neo-Platonist world of ‘essence’ capable of being tapped into and producing, for the specially initiated, perfect knowledge of a kind superior to that attainable by means of the senses and human reason” (source). I think our minds are capable of profound experiences and that’s all.

As to the ultimate nature of reality, I am agnostic. Occam’s razor is all about the limits of knowledge – being honest and realistic about uncertainty – not about saying for definite that the simpler model is “true”. It’s important to me not to believe in idols (such as scientific models), although they are useful and are actually all we have. Following reason works in practical application, but the nature of matter and energy is a mystery, and the idea that it is the final reality (i.e. philosophical materialism) is a metaphysical proposition. Reason can and should be used until it reaches its limit, and when it does, that should be humbly acknowledged. A full acknowledgement of uncertainty is always the most honest and correct position to take.

This entry was posted in Humanism, philosophy, science. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Agnostic naturalist

  1. susanne430 says:

    “A full acknowledgement of uncertainty is always the most honest and correct position to take.”

    That seems a good way to think of it! Nice to see your new blog! 🙂

  2. Achelois says:

    I love this blog!

    I have been thinking on similar lines as your last sentence. I think it is impossible to be certain and it is important to be uncertain.

Leave a Reply

